Asim’s Blog

January 12, 2011

Sold my HTC Desire

Filed under: Personal — Tags: — asimmunawar @ 2:22 pm

Finally I decided to sell my HTC desire for $360. I tried to fix the battery problem by doing everything possible. I tried to reflash it, installed different kinds of monitoring software’s, also performed the famous HTC plane mode trip, and another trick to calibrate the battery. However, none of these worked. The most frustrating thing was the customer service representative response from HTC and also from my service provider SoftBank.

First, I called SoftBank and told them about the problem that I am having. They gave a very lame excuse and I am sure they did not know what they were talking about. After talking to me for around 30 min the representative said that there is a big difference how the SIM unlocked and SIM locked phones connect with the network. And because my phone is SIM unlocked therefore I don’t get good battery life. They claim that even if I see full bars on my mobile phone that does not necessarily means a good signal strength.

Then I planned to call HTC Japan. I called them and they forwarded my call to someone very non technical. All his discussion was simply out of the context. However, he recommended me to call HTC Taiwan where they have the biggest repair center of HTC phones. I called them and all they said is that uninstall useless applications and you will get a good battery time. I told him my situation in detail but he had nothing to say. Finally, I became kind of angry and decided to claim the warranty.  But again the guy in Taiwan said that there is nothing that we can do. This is perfectly normal and we will not be able to make any repairs or give you a replacement. So, it is useless to send you phone to Taiwan. There is some serious problem with some HTC desire sets. Google the problem and you will find quite a few people having the same problem with their battery. HTC does know the problem but they don’t want to replace the defected sets.

I don’t have anything against HTC phones. They make great phones but they should improve their customer’s service quality. As for me, after fulfilling my desires 😎 , I am back to the good old HTC Hermes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

